top of page
Presidency - Eastern & Midland Regional Assembly

The Eastern and Midland Regional Assembly comprises of 38 elected Members nominated by the 12 constituent local authorities within the region.

The main roles of the Eastern and Midland Regional Assembly are to:

  • Implement the appropriate Regional Planning Guidelines operational within its geographical area.

  • Prepare, adopt and implement the Regional Spatial and Economic Strategies.

  • Ensure consistency with RPG/RESES in relation to the Local Economic and Community Plans of the 12 constituent Local Authorities.

  • Participate on EU operational programme monitoring committees.

  • Identify, participate and co-ordinate certain EU projects.

  • Support the national delegation to the Committee of the regions.

  • Support the work of the National Oversight and Audit Commission.

ENCORE is Co-Chaired by the Regional Minister for the Environment of the Region that will host the next Conference together with the Minister for the Environment of the Region that has hosted the last Conference.

The Co-Presidents lead and promote ENCORE at political level and together with the other Regional Ministers for the Environment set the political decisions of ENCORE.

Co-Presidents 2018-2021
Eastern & Midland Regional Assembly (2020/2021 conference host)
Councillor Deirdre Heney
Clontarf, North Central Area Committee, Ireland

About EMRA
bottom of page